Scarlet Town

£9.99

** A TELEGRAPH BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR ** ‘Nattrass’s best yet’ – S.G. MACLEAN ‘Wonderfully evocative’ – DAILY TELEGRAPH ‘Authentic and relentlessly pageturning’ – SUNDAY EXPRESS A rigged election. A feuding Cornish town. A suspicious death. And a perspicacious pig. May 1796, and former Foreign Office clerk Laurence Jago and his larger-than-life employer, the journalist William Philpott, have escaped America – and Philpott’s near imprisonment for libel – by the skin of their teeth. They return to Laurence’s hometown of Helston, Cornwall, in the hope of rest and recuperation, but instead find themselves in the middle of a tumultuous election that has the inhabitants of the town at one another’s throats. Only two men may vote in this rotten borough, and when one of them dies in suspicious circumstances, Laurence is ordered to investigate on behalf of the town’s political patron, his old master the Duke of Leeds. Then the second elector

Pre-order

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Ask for more info
SKU: 9781800816992 Category: Tags: ,

Description

** A TELEGRAPH BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR **’Nattrass’s best yet’ – S.G. MACLEAN’Wonderfully evocative’ – DAILY TELEGRAPH’Authentic and relentlessly pageturning’ – SUNDAY EXPRESSA rigged election. A feuding Cornish town. A suspicious death. And a perspicacious pig.May 1796, and former Foreign Office clerk Laurence Jago and his larger-than-life employer, the journalist William Philpott, have escaped America – and Philpott’s near imprisonment for libel – by the skin of their teeth. They return to Laurence’s hometown of Helston, Cornwall, in the hope of rest and recuperation, but instead find themselves in the middle of a tumultuous election that has the inhabitants of the town at one another’s throats.Only two men may vote in this rotten borough, and when one of them dies in suspicious circumstances, Laurence is ordered to investigate on behalf of the town’s political patron, his old master the Duke of Leeds. Then the second elector is poisoned and suspicion turns on the town doctor, the gentle Pythagoras Jago, Laurence’s own cousin. Suddenly Laurence finds himself ensnared in generations of bad blood and petty rivalries, with his cousin’s fate in his hands…The new page-turning historical mystery from the author of Black Drop, a 2021 Times Book of the Year. Perfect for readers of Andrew Taylor and Laura Shepherd-Robinson.

Additional information

Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

384

Language

English

Edition
Dewey
Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.