Blue Water

£9.99

This is the secret report of disgraced former Foreign Office clerk Laurence Jago, written on the mail ship Tankerville en route to Philadelphia. His mission is to aid the civil servant charged with carrying a vital treaty to Congress that will prevent the Americans from joining with the French in their war against Britain. When the civil servant meets an unfortunate ‘accidental’ end, Laurence becomes the one person standing between Britain and disaster. It is his great chance to redeem himself at Whitehall – except that his predecessor has taken the secret of the treaty’s hiding place to his watery grave. As the ship is searched, Laurence quickly discovers that his fellow passengers all have their own motives to find the treaty for themselves. And as a second death follows the first, Laurence must turn sleuth in order to find the killer before he has an ‘accident’ of his own.

In stock

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Ask for more info
SKU: 9781788165969 Category: Tags: , ,

Description

** AN INSTANT TIMES BESTSELLER **** A FINANCIAL TIMES BOOK OF THE YEAR **’A TRULY GRIPPING READ’ – GUARDIAN’FABULOUS, A DELIGHT’ – S.G. MACLEAN’A FINE ADVENTURE REMINISCENT OF PATRICK O’BRIAN’ – SUNDAY TIMESThis is the secret report of Laurence Jago. Unwilling spy. Reluctant sailor. Accidental detective. New Year 1795, and Laurence Jago is aboard the Tankerville mail ship, en route to Philadelphia. Laurence is travelling undercover, supposedly as a journalist’s assistant. But his real mission is to protect a civil servant, en route to Congress with a vital treaty that will stop the Americans from joining the French in their war against Britain.When the civil servant meets an unfortunate – and apparently accidental – end, the treaty disappears, and Laurence realises that only he can keep the Americans out of the war. Trapped on the ship with a strange assortment of travellers including two penniless French aristocrats, an Irish actress and a dancing bear, Laurence must hunt down both the lost treaty and the murderer, before he has a tragic ‘accident’ himself…The new page-turning historical mystery from the author of BLACK DROP, a 2021 TIMES Book of the Year. Perfect for readers of Andrew Taylor, Laura Shepherd-Robinson and S.J. Parris.

Additional information

Weight 300 g
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.8 × 3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

383

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.