That Self-Same Metal

£8.99

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman who creates and upkeeps the stage blades for William Shakespeare’s acting company, The King’s Men. Joan’s skill with her blades comes from a magical ability to control metal – an ability gifted by her Head Orisha, Ogun. Because her whole family is Orisha-blessed, the Sands family have always kept tabs on the Fae presence in London. Usually that doesn’t involve much except noting the faint glow around a Fae’s body as they try to blend in with London society, but lately, there has been an uptick in brutal Fae attacks. After Joan wounds a powerful Fae and saves the son of a cruel Lord, she is drawn into political intrigue in the human and Fae worlds.

In stock

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Ask for more info

Description

Swashbuckling, romantic, and full of the sights and sounds of Shakespeare’s London, this sweeping YA fantasy trilogy debut is perfect for fans of Holly Black, Leigh Bardugo and J. Elle.

Joan touched her fingers to the blade, felt the metal sing to her. It whispered its secrets . . .

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman and an exceptional swordsmith.

So skilled is her technique that she is one of very few women employed at the Globe Theatre, directing William Shakespeare and his troupe of actors in fierce scenes of combat. Of course, it helps that Joan is blessed with the power to control metal, thanks to Ogun, head deity of all Orishas.

But when a pact between the ancient Yoruba spirits and Fae is broken, only she can save the streets of London from peril. Joan must find a way to defeat them in battle by herself . . .

Okay, perhaps her twin brother James, blessed with gifts from Oya, can be of some help! And, despite the simmering tensions of a love triangle between herself, Rose, and Nick, Joan has a community of people to protect and who will protect her in return.

Perfect for anyone looking for a fresh take on faerie magic.’ Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shadow Bone

A groundbreaking addition to the fantasy genre..’ Ayana Gray, New York Times-bestselling author Beasts of Prey

Every sentence will thunder through your bones.‘ Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and the Aru Shah series

Wildly imaginative and refreshingly diverse . . . taut with intrigue.’ J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

Additional information

Weight 291 g
Dimensions 20 × 13 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

334

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.