The Country of Others. Volume One War, War, War

£8.99

Alsace, 1944. Mathilde finds herself falling deeply in love with Amine Belhaj, a Moroccan soldier billeted in her town fighting for the French. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves her country to follow her new husband to Morocco. But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Suffocated by the heat of the Moroccan climate, by her loneliness on the farm, by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner and by their lack of money, Mathilde grows restless. As violence broods and Morocco’s own struggle for independence grows daily, Mathilde and Amine’s refusal to take sides sees them and their family at odds with their own desire for freedom. How can Mathilde – a woman whose life is dominated by the decisions of men – hold her family together in a world that is being torn apart?

In stock

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Description

‘A panoramic, ambitious tale.’ The Times
‘Exceptional.’ Salman Rushdie
‘Powerful.’ Christine Mangan
‘Captivating.’ Elle

From the internationally bestselling author of Lullaby, The Country of Others is perfect for fans of Elena Ferrante, Tracy Chevalier, and Maggie O’Farrel
l.

1944. After the Liberation, Mathilde leaves France to join her husband in Morocco.

But life here is unrecognisable to this brave and passionate young woman. Her life is now that of a farmer’s wife – with all the sacrifices and vexations that brings. Suffocated by the heat, by her loneliness on the farm and by the mistrust she inspires as a foreigner, Mathilde grows increasingly restless.

As Morocco’s struggle for independence intensifies, Mathilde and her husband find themselves caught in the crossfire.

Additional information

Weight 279 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

336

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

843.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Share your thoughts!

Let us know what you think...

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

What others are saying

There are no contributions yet.

×

Login

Continue as a Guest