Roll over image to zoom in

£9.99

Fyneshade

On the day of her beloved grandmother’s funeral, Marta discovers that she is to become governess to the young daughter of Sir William Pritchard. Separated from her lover and discarded by her family, Marta has no choice but to journey to Pritchard’s ancient and crumbling house, Fyneshade, in the wilds of Derbyshire. All is not…

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Ask for more info

Author

SKU: 9781788168779

Category

Description

* A SUNDAY TIMES HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK OF 2023 *’A gloriously foreboding Gothic tale’ – HEAT’A thrillingly dark page-turner’ – MAIL ON SUNDAY’Marta is Jane Eyre’s black-hearted alter ego’ – THE TIMESMany would find much to fear in Fyneshade’s dark and crumbling corridors, its unseen master and silent servants. But not I. For they have far more to fear from me…On the day of her beloved grandmother’s funeral, Marta discovers that she is to become governess to the young daughter of Sir William Pritchard. Separated from her lover and discarded by her family, Marta has no choice but to journey to Pritchard’s ancient and crumbling house, Fyneshade, in the wilds of Derbyshire. All is not well at Fyneshade. Marta’s pupil, little Grace, can be taught nothing, and Marta takes no comfort from the silent servants who will not meet her eye. More intriguing is that Sir William is mysteriously absent, and his son and heir Vaughan is forbidden to enter the house. Marta finds herself drawn to Vaughan, despite the warnings of the housekeeper that he is a danger to all around him. But Marta is no innocent to be preyed upon. Guided by the dark gift taught to her by her grandmother, she has made her own plans. And it will take more than a family riven by murderous secrets to stop her… Perfect for readers of Laura Purcell, Jessie Burton and Stacey Halls, Fyneshade is a dark and twisted gothic novel unlike any you’ve read before…

Additional information

Weight 300 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.8 × 3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

384

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter and Get 10% Off

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Open chat
1
Scan the code
Hello
Can we help you?
Please note, we will only use your data in relation to this query and any subsequent transaction you make with us.