Roll over image to zoom in

£9.99

Diary of a void

When 34-year-old Ms Shibata gets a new job in Tokyo to escape sexual harassment at her old one, she finds that, as the only woman at her workplace, she is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day, she announces that she can’t clear away her colleagues’ dirty cups – because she’s pregnant and…

Have your item expertly wrapped by our booksellers with quality seasonal papers by Wrap. To add a handwritten note, please add your message at the Checkout stage.

Ask for more info

Author

SKU: 9781529114812

Category

Description

For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions…

‘Incredibly thought-provoking… you’ll love Yagi’s writing’ STYLIST

Ms Shibata refuses to clear away the coffee at work one day, because she’s pregnant and can’t bear the smell. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.

Being a mother-to-be isn’t easy. Ms Shibata has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her ‘pregnancy’, the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that’s perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs.

‘A subversive, surreal read that will strike a cord’ RED

‘One of the most passionate cases I’ve ever read for female interiority, for women’s creative pulse and rich inner life’ NEW YORKER

Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

Additional information

Weight 159 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 1.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

176

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

895.636 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter and Get 10% Off

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.
Open chat
1
Scan the code
Hello
Can we help you?
Please note, we will only use your data in relation to this query and any subsequent transaction you make with us.